Garden Share – October in the gardens

I am told by Weather  Channel personnel that this Sunday will mark the end of this year’s growing season in Eastern Pennsylvania.  The temperature is predicted to drop below 32 degrees and tender crops and flowers will return to the soil from which they sprang.  Another season ends, a new one begins.

Stripped cucumber beetle on rays of red Daisy mum

Spottted cucumber beetle on underside of Daisy mum

I have Friday plans to remove all Vinca, Impatiens, marigolds, tomatoes and peppers. I hope the broccoli, kale and chrysanthemums will weather a few frosty nights.

Close-up of broccoli buds

I’m not ready to let go. This series of photographs will help me through the long, cold winter days I know – are coming.

Red Daisy mum flower

Daisy mum flower pimk

Daisy mum flower close-up

5 thoughts on “Garden Share – October in the gardens

  1. Beautiful. And I echo your sentiments, Bonnie. I’m not ready either. 😦 I will be wrapping my tomatoes and peppers in protective cover to try and squeeze another couple of weeks from them.

Leave a Reply

