Amaranth the Story of a Magnificent Flower

For those who have followed this blog, this story may be redundant. In the fall of 2004, the evening of my eldest daughter’s birthday, it began to rain.  The rain was a prelude to the tropical depression that was about to descend upon us, Ivan.  Eleven inches of rain later the water rose and receded and we no longer had a home to come home to.  The foundation had shifted and the gardens I had created all washed away. 

September 18, 2004

But let me backup.  A week earlier as I was walking through my neighborhood I conjured up enough courage to ask a neighborhood couple if they would extend me the courtesy of touring their garden.  They of course said yes and the tour commenced. What I remember is that the backdrop of the perennial borders were magnificent amaranth plants, all taller than me.  The gardener broke off a drooping flower head and told me to shake the seeds into my garden and  then thin to meet my needs.  The flower head ended up on my potting table.  A week later the water streamed in the potting table ended up somewhere in the garden and the flower head washed away. 

September 18, 2004 flood

Fast forward – a new home was purchased, every plant I could dig out came home with me.  The following spring daylilies and hostas were planted and the amaranth sprang forth.  Seeds had swirled around in the flood waters and came to rest in the leaves of the daylilies.  Ten growing seasons later they still adorn the gardens at Valley View.

Amaranth

Sedum and Amaranth

Amaranth Flower

August 2007

8 thoughts on “Amaranth the Story of a Magnificent Flower

  1. What a magical tale. The amaranth is gorgeous, and so precious that you have carried those things forward. I am always comforted by my garden.

  2. What a dramatic looking plant. Those gracefully arched flower heads look amazing nodding over the sedums.
    But, my, oh, my, my heart ached seeing the pictures of the damage done to your home and garden. Thank goodness it is all in the past but…whew, what a thing to experience!

    1. More to the story, it was the home my father built and I had never lived anywhere else. BUT what arose from the devastation in more magnificent and magical than I could have ever imagined!

  3. Flowers and plants have a way of knowing where they will be loved. And often nature makes sure they get there. Bonnie – I am sure your dad would be so pleased with what you have done in your beautiful gardens. Do you think some of that amaranth might like to come and live in my garden? 😉

Leave a Reply

