Patiently Waiting Under the Snow

The Vernal Equinox is only 20 days away and still snow and ice cover the gardens.  A storm is looming promising more snow and single digit numbers are not uncommon.

Middle Garden in Winter
Middle Garden in Winter

As I look out the window into the gardens I wonder what is patiently waiting under the snow ready to germinate when the warmth of the sun’s rays kiss the bare earth.

Every year it’s a surprise.  The majority of my garden flowers are the children of what came before.  Self-seeders dominate, I wonder who will persevere this year?

Daisy chrysanthemums flower

As can be seen by the date stamp,this photo was taken in 2010.  These Daisy mums are the children of a plant given to me by a coworker and subsequently transplanted from our first home.  The year was 2005.  In 2008 I did not have time to cut back the spent flowers and the following spring I found numerous seedlings.  I left them grow in their original space and that following Autumn was blessed with a variety of colors. They now grace the expanded gardens.

Pink Daisy mums flower
Original Plant

Chrysanthemum flower

Daisy chrysanthemums

Daisy mums Chrysanthemum

Self-seeded Daisy mum

Orange Daisy Mum flower

8 thoughts on “Patiently Waiting Under the Snow

  1. And on this bitterly cold, yet sunny Friday morning….your words make me smile….and your photos fill me with warmth and happiness. Thanks Bonnie!

      1. Oh, I always read your eloquent commentary. You always let your pictures be expressive enough to stand alone but your words add extra insight.

  2. I enjoy your posts so much and will definitely look for some daisy mums this spring. I love the miniature zinnias which look much the same, but must be planted anew each spring.

Leave a Reply

