Winter Birds of Pennsylvania

Since I am no longer able to walk the gardens, and the only paths take me to the potting shed or barn, I need to find a short-term hobby.  Having many “snow days” I’ve decided to try to photograph as many species of birds as possible that frequent the feeders. I believe  I’ve made a valiant start.

In the post dated February 3, Tired of Neutral Colors, I posted a photo of A male House Finch and female Cardinal.

Female Cardinal and Male House Finch
Female Cardinal and Male House
Finch

In the post dated February 4, Yet Another, I added another two to the list, Mourning Dove and the Red Bellied Woodpecker.

Red-Bellied Woodpecker
Red-Bellied Woodpecker
Mourning Dove bird
Mourning Dove

 

And in the post dated February 7, Red White and Blue, I shared photos of the Eastern bluebird and male House Finch.  Granted they were technically not at the feeders but in a rain gutter at the back of the house, I will include them anyway!

Birds Bluebird and House Finch
Eastern Bluebird and male House Finch

 

So today I will add another three species, the Northern Mockingbird, White-throated Sparrow and the Carolina Wren.

Northern Mockingbird
Northern Mockingbird
White-throated Sparrow
White-throated Sparrow
Carolina Wren
Carolina Wren

Stop back to see what others I’ve “captured”.

11 thoughts on “Winter Birds of Pennsylvania

  1. those are all beautiful!
    we have a ‘croaking’ ground dove here, and a long-tailed mockingbird!
    did you participate in the backyard bird count that ends today? if not, you probably have a great list of what you’ve photographed!!! z

      1. with a smile, i confess to living only minutes south of the line of the equator on ecuador’s pacific coast. there’s a river about twenty feet from the corner of my house, and there are shrimp ponds in front. the birds in the mangroves at the end of the day are stunning!

      2. Your response made my day! I can only imagine the paradise you live in. Thank you for taking the time to wonder through my gardens and the flora and fauna the coexist here.

  2. Great pictures! I found my way here during some googling trying to figure out what kind of bird it was I awoke to yesterday morning. Little bugger made his way through an inch and a half opening in my window, flew right in! XD I woke up to the fluttering around my room, haha. But I just opened my window the entire way and in 10 min or so he found his way back out with no harm done. I think I’ve narrowed it down to either a finch or a sparrow, MAYBE a wren, but I feel pretty sure it had the shorter beak of the finch and sparrow.

    I live about 35 miles north of Harrisburg, and yes my window was open during the last week of November :3.

    1. Thank you for taking a moment of your time to click through my blog! I love to share what shares my garden. Yes our weather has indeed been up and down. Hopefully tomorrow we will be able to open our windows again! Make sure you keep your screen down lol! I often have birds fly into my potting shed and this past summer a sparrow flew into our family room. All were either caught and released or found their way out.

Leave a Reply

