How DOES the Garden Grow – With Saddleback Catterpillars

As I last shared: I was stalking the Red Spotted Purple when I leaned into a Spicebush tree  and something stung my cheek.  My first thought was a black ant Ant on Spurge as they frequent plants in the garden or perhaps a resting bee.

Imagine my surprise to look and find this tiny creature – the Saddleback Caterpillar.

DSCN2620

A few years ago after a short walkabout, Maddie came back with one on her back be sure to click on the link Magnified Meanderings  to see the mature creature!

DSCN2671

Now I’m drawn back to the Spicebush tree to watch the transformative beauty of nature!

DSCN2726

If you are interested in learning more click on

Saddleback Caterpillar Moth

13 thoughts on “How DOES the Garden Grow – With Saddleback Catterpillars

  1. Such a weird (& wonderful) caterpillar. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything remotely like it.

Leave a Reply

