The Goddess of the Moon

While clearing overgrown branches behind the smokehouse, now potting shed, there on the ground was a most amazing creature.  One I’ve spent countless hours searching for after dark. But it was day and she was lying at my feet. I gently scooped her up thinking
I had brought about her demise but as I lifted her skyward she arose from my hands and as a piece of tissue paper caught in the wind.   Now I knew she shared my space.  After dark with flashlight in hand I again sought her out.  Was it happenstance that I found her or a connection made?

DSCN2418
Luna Moth, Actias luna, in an English Walnut tree

For additional information please click on the link below!

LUNA MOTH

DSCN2420

21 thoughts on “The Goddess of the Moon

  1. What a delightful creature! You lucky girl, and thanks for capturing so beautifully for the rest of us. Have to look it up straight away now… 🙂

Leave a Reply

