Erotic, Sensual or Just Plain Strange: Skunk Cabbage Redux

Skunk Cabbage AKA  Symplocarpus foetidus still draws me across the stream.

Skunk Cabbage Across the Stream

This is the third year I’ve photographed this Pennsylvania wildflower and I do believe these are the best photos to date.

Skunk Cabbage flowers

Taken with my new Nikon Coolpix P510 at approximately 6:00 PM the shapes and color are crisp and clear.

Still erotic and sensual as they break through the forest floor their colors and shapes draw not only human eyes but pollinating insects.

Close-up of Skunk Cabbage flower

if your are interested,  the 2011 The Garden beyond the Stream and the 2012 Erotic, Sensual or Just Plain Strange?  can be viewed  here!

Skunk Cabbage

Skunk Cabbage

Skunk Cabbage flower

12 thoughts on “Erotic, Sensual or Just Plain Strange: Skunk Cabbage Redux

  1. I can’t wait to see my friend the “skunk Cabbage” appear in the woods. When I see them I know we are headed for warmer weather!!
    Joel

Leave a Reply

