Obsessions and Covered Bridges

7 years, 3 months, 6 days – that is how long I have lived at Valley View. I’ve traveled from Maine to Florida, to New Mexico and Texas.  But I had never driven 3 miles northwest of my home. Having lived my entire life southeast of Valley View I find myself continuing to travel familiar roads. I know the number of turns and count the stop lights to and from work. I know where particular flowers bloom and the breed of dog that is walked on a particular block.  I guess I am a bit obsessive.

Last weekend as we journeyed home after an outing to a local winery, my husband and I turned onto unfamiliar back roads. A road sign caught my attention, Covered Bridge Road. Stop – turn around – there it was,  a beautifully preserved covered bridge. On a good day I could walk to it and I never knew it existed.

The patterns created by the massive beams are works of art. 

The artisans whose hands planed the wood and set the slate created a timeless masterpiece!

Take a moment to walk inside.

Look up,

then down, ENJOY . . .

Thank you for waking the bridge with me.

21 thoughts on “Obsessions and Covered Bridges

  1. How nice is that ! its funny what you can find on your own doorstep. Saying that i think we have out grown our surroundings and dare i say it thinking of spreading our wings. Great post and great photo’s

  2. What a grand old bridge. It’s in great condition to be that old. The craftsmanship is exquisite.

    Isn’t it odd how we can travel all over but miss things in our own back yard?

  3. The last stanza in the poem by Robert Frost popped into my head as soon as I started reading your post. “The Road Not Taken” – Thank you for sharing

    “I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.”

    Robert Frost

  4. I love all the covered bridges in the Lehigh Valley! There’s a gorgeous one that looks very similar to the one in your photos at one of the entrances to the Parkway in Allentown. Love your shots of the inside of this one!

  5. You hear about covered bridges, and of course I’ve seen them on movies, thanks for bringing it too life. The first part of your blog I really identify with. I think sometimes we don’t think what else could be around. That is partly the reason for the photos on my blog the other day. Just because I see it everyday, doesn’t mean everyone else has. There are a few things around me I should try and photograph.
    I really like the way you have photographed the bridge. Great to see how it was constructed. Do you know why they built them covered?

  6. There’s a lovely old covered bridge near the town of Gray’s River, WA. The town has an annual covered bridge festival. I enjoyed my imaginary walk through the one near you.

  7. I also take the “road less traveled” several days per week and drive through a scenic section of South Whitehall Township hoping to avoid traffic and highways during the morning rush. My scenic trip takes me across Manasses Guth covered bridge near Wehr’s Dam park–which also has a covered bridge. Here is a link to all our covered bridges in the area and some information about how they were constructed. Enjoy the tour! http://www.discoverlehighvalley.com/files/covered_bridge_revised.pdf

Leave a Reply

