Webs

Spider webs have always fascinated me. As a preschool teacher I would “capture” webs for the children to see and feel.

If you are interested in this concept click here:  www.helium.com/items/1361145-school-science-projects-spider-web-collecting

Other times we would “invite” a spider to visit out room and observe them for a week while they lived in an aquarium and spun beautiful creations.

Today, instead of capturing webs on paper I capture them in photos.

and accept their invitation to observe them in their natural habitats.

Their creations are works of art.  And yes, I have walked into many a web stretched across the doorway of my potting shed only to have it reappear the next morning.

As always, I want to thank you for stopping by! For those living in the northern latitudes, are you as ready as I am for warm southern breezes? Enjoy

13 thoughts on “Webs

  1. By the way, I like the experiment, except for the “collecting the spider” part to mount them in a display along with the web.

    So, this poor spider, working diligently, as the article says . . . they teach kids to not enjoy it out in the wild, but to pin it to a display. seems kind of mean-spirited, and for no good reason since a picture would serve as well.

  2. Wow, it’s been so long since I’ve seen wonderfully built spider webs. The spider on my ceiling does a crappy job of weaving his web. I just had to shoo him away out of my room. lol >.<

  3. Gorgeous webs (and spiders!) I love spider webs. They are so fascinating and ethereal. I have also walked into spider webs – numerous times last summer – when watering my plants. Every day I told myself I have to remember to walk AROUND the eggplants, and ever day I would forget, destroying the huge web that had been built, yet again. I felt so bad each time. It’s amazing what diligent and fast workers they are – I was always astonished to see it completely built up again the next day.

    By the way, I nominated you for a blogging award that has been circulating. Details are in my latest post. You can do what you want (or not) with it, no matter to me – I’m just a fan of your blog and hoped to encourage more traffic to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

