Mantis Mania

Looking through photographs of last year’s growing season I see that I had I included ten images of the largest insect that share the gardens at Valley View, the Praying Mantis.

 

Each winter I scour the roadsides looking for their eggcases and carefully transporting them home.  I am careful to remove only  the cases I see are in danger of being destroyed.  Last year three came home with me. I placed one near the vegetable garden and the others in the flowerbeds.

During the growing season mantids could be found in every corner of the gardens and on most every surface of our home.

For fun and interesting facts about these amazing creatures check out this website. They love mantids as much as I do.

www.theprayingmantis.org/

Thank you for dropping by.  If you’re so inclined, please let me know what you think!  Enjoy your day

14 thoughts on “Mantis Mania

  1. So cool! I love them – but don’t see them often enough. May be that I am not looking closely enough. What does an egg case look like? Do you have a photo?

  2. Awesome pics of these Mantis. I love the one that is looking at you. Mantis weren’t that common where I grew up and I believe these was some penalty for killing them, although that might be a complete lie told to kids to make them not do it. Keep up the good work.

  3. How did I miss this post? These photos are incredible!!! That first one – WOW. I love the praying mantis. We found a very pregnant one at the end of the summer two years ago…I kept my eyes open for an egg sack but never found one, and did not have a yard full of baby mantises the following year…not sure what happened there, but it’s too bad. How great that you collect them from roadsides to protect them and let them do their thing in your garden. Win win!

Leave a Reply

