SNOW – A Magnificent Magnification

Sweeping vistas of snow-covered landscapes create in most people a sense of wonder.  I had hoped to capture images similar to those fellow blogger Jeffrey Foltice  captured in a series of photographs at Paw Paw Park Holland Michigan, photonatureblog.com/.  But alas, my small point and shoot Canon has trouble navigating exposure, contrast and f-stop, whatever that is! (Yes, I am sharing my ignorance of general photography terms.)  Instead I’ve chosen to share a series of photographs that allow the viewer to experience a snowy day on a transcendental level.

After a night of falling snow the decomposing remains of vegetation that once was is now adorned with crystalline structures.

Others still hold the promise of new life.

Evergreen Bagworm (Thyridopteryx ephemeraeformis), commonly known as bagworm, eastern bagworm, , is a moth that spins its cocoon in its larval life, decorating it with bits of plant material from the trees on which it feeds.  The evergreen bagworm’s case grows to a length of over 6 cm, tapered and open on both ends.  from: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Evergreen_bagworm

And there are those still waiting to separate and spiral downward to create a bed of humus where new life will spring forth!

Thank you for dropping by.  If you’re so inclined, please let me know what you think!  Enjoy your day

11 thoughts on “SNOW – A Magnificent Magnification

  1. So beautiful and peaceful – that’s what come to mind looking at your pics. You capture the simple beauty of our natural world in your photos, and enhance it with your words. Thank you Bonnie. 🙂

    1. Thank you Steve, I had signed up for a beginners photography class that fit into my work schedule but it was cancelled:(. I do follow your suggestions. Now I just need to buy a real camera. Any suggestions? I need something not too complicated but will allow me to take both close-ups and telephoto. I surmise I will need to buy lens if I want to do both!

  2. The only current cameras I’m familiar with are the Canon interchangeable-lens models. You might take a look at the Canon EOS Rebel T3i. You’re right that for close-ups you’d need to buy a separate macro lens, which can cost as much as (or more than) the camera body.

    1. I use Sony cameras and Tamron lenses, a combination that is practical and easy to use. I currently have an SLT-A55 and an A1 body and three lenses: a Tamron 18-250 mm that covers everything from a mild wide angle (to get more into the photo) to a good telephoto (to bring far away things–like birds–close). I call it my walking-around lens, since it is almost always the one I use. It also allows Macro shots. For extreme closeup, I use a real Macro, a Tamron 90mm. I use it for flowers and butterflies. I also use a Tamron wide angle zoom 11-18 mm. It is useful in tight places like interiors or in expansive outdoor shots when you want huge vistas to be included and in focus.

      The kind of camera is probably irrelevant, like the kind of car you drive. A good one will get you where you want to go! I find that Sony cameras are really easy to use. You can forget about f stops and shutter speed and just set them on automatic and get really great photos (as long as you have a great eye, as Bonnie clearly does!) You can see some of my work at http://www.flickr.com/photos/rcfgunkle/.

  3. I love your take on the snow. You always find interesting ways to take photos. Love it.
    I have been reading the comments about the cameras. If you want to take close ups and telephotos, you usually do need two lens. Depends on how close up you want to get as well. Macro lens is great, but they are expensive,well they are here. I often use my 80 to 200mm for close ups. I find it works OK. I don’t want to get a macro because I can’t justify the price, not with how often I would use it.
    I do think you should get a DSLR, you will be amazed at how much you can do with it, and you will have a lot people willing to help you with it. Me included.

Leave a Reply

