Roses the Bain of my Existence

I applaud anyone who brings roses into their gardens.

It is beyond my understanding how towns and cities can maintain rose gardens! Black Spot, Powdery Mildew, Aphids,  I’m sure the list goes on and on. To the many roses that made it home and to my garden they are now somewhere in the woods, adieu.  I was told not to even compost them for fear of spreading disease.

That being said, I thank the roses that have survived my care every single day.

Yes, Black Spot does abound, but now I let it run it cycle.

Flowers bloom, leaves grow back and even a wild rose rises from the decimation I perpetrated upon a climbing rose.

I’ll take a moment to look back upon what once was.

Maybe next year I’ll try Earth Kind Roses I’ve been told they are invincible.  But then again they’ve never visited my garden!   ENJOY . . .

If you are wondering I currently have 6 roses in my garden. All have some degree of Black Spot and yes I do sometimes spray, when time and motivation permits!

6 thoughts on “Roses the Bain of my Existence

  1. I’ve had lots of discouragement with roses. I discovered one after much reading called Queen Elizabeth. It’s a Grandiflora rose and so far is showing excellent promise. It was introduced back in the 50’s. It’s hearty enough to survive our winters and it’s a cross between a Floribunda and a Tea Rose. I sprayed it a bit last year to protect it from the rose chafers, and it survived without any problems. I gave up on Tea Roses just because they seem too tender for the harsh winters we have.
    Looks like your roses are doing great so far!

  2. Hi Sis,

    A couple of things. IFirst I have been burying a banana peel next to my roses and Black Spot has disappeared. However there are 3 species of Black Spot so I don’t know if this works for every one. Next sprinkle a cup full of Epsom Salt around the base of your roses and let the rain slowly soak it in. In the spring of the year sprinkle a cup full of bone meal and a cup full of alafala meal around each plant and then cover with about 2- 3 inches of compost. Make compost tea (have volume of compost and half volume of water – let soak). Use the tea as a foliage spray. It is a good fungicise and virus cide. If you are using commercial fertilizerss you are giving the plants a “shot” off steriods (like athletes) but are killing the micro fungii that grow in symbiosis with your plants. This causes them to struggle to breath and repel disease.
    Also if your soil is compact( a loy of clay like mine) you need to amend it to let the carbon dioxide-oxygen cycle run easier.

Leave a Reply

